Fashion, Feature

5 Fashion Icons from my Favorite TV shows

Hola guys!

It’s another weekend and I’m excited to be here. I hope y’all are having a good weekend too?  Thanks for all the love you guys have been showing; the stats have truly been encouraging.

Today the on the blog I’ll be featuring 5 Fashion Icons from my favorite TV shows. In case you did not know, I’m a huge comedy series fan. I’ll pick comedy over action any day. Many times when I’m watching a TV show, movie or music video I’m not only watching for the sake of entertainment, I  also take note of what the stars are wearing and if it’s decent and I like it I find ways to incorporate it into my personal style.

Here are 5 onscreen style stars whose wardrobe I’m willing to raid any time. Three are from a 90’s TV series, One is from a TV series set in the 90’s while the latter is from a 21st century TV series.

  • TV Show Fashion

Real Name – Will Smith

 On-screen name – Will Smith

TV Show –   The Fresh Prince of Bel Air

On-Screen Style – Colorful Vintage Vibes

 

The Fresh Prince of Bel Air is a comedy sitcom that aired from 1990 – 1996. It featured Will Smith as the star actor playing a fictionalized version of himself.

will freshj prince

The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air

Will is portrayed as a teen from the ghetto who came to live with his relatives in elite Bel -Air so he could stay out of trouble. Although this is a nineties series, I only got to watch it last year (shouts to my friend who hooked me up, you know yourself 😉 ) and I was hooked. Will had the coolest wardrobe ever. His collection of brightly – coloured vintage shirts are to die for and his footwear collection AWEDACIOUS! Okay! I’m going overboard, but If you’ve watched this series you definitely know what I’m talking about.

  • janet-hubert-fresh-prince

Real Name -Janet Hubert

On-screen name – Vivian ” Aunt Viv” Banks

TV Show – The Fresh Prince of Bel Air

On-screen style -Classy Professional

jane hubert

aunt viv

 

Janet Hubert played Will’s aunt “Aunt Viv” in the first 3 seasons of the Fresh Prince Series, she was later replaced in the 4th season. Vivian Banks was a wife, mother and college professor. Vivian knew how to wear it all, a power suit, an evening gown and even a leotard for dancing. She had the body to rock it plus she obviously passed her style genes to her daughters Hilary and Ashley.

 

  • hilary banks 3

Real Name – Karyn Parsons

On-screen name – Hilary  Banks 

TV Show –   The Fresh Prince of Bel Air

On-screen style – Elegant, Classy, Chic

 

Hilary Banks plays the first daughter of Philip and Vivian Banks. She is portrayed as spoilt, snotty and not – so bright. What Hilary lacks in wisdom she makes up for with her sense of style. She was never not wearing a power suit and a matching hat, and when it came to parties and dinner dates Hilary sure brought her A-game on. Hilary’s character was definitely the epitome of a 90’s It Girl.

  • Jessica Huang

Real Name – Constance Wu

On-screen name – Jessica Huang

TV Show – Fresh off the Boat 

On-screen style – Laid back – Minimalist chic/mom.

TV Show Fashion

Jessica Hunag 2

 

Although the series Fresh Off The Boat is set in the mid 90’s  the first season aired in 2015. The series revolves around a Taiwanese family who moved from Washington DC to Orlando. It tells the story of how immigrant families cope within a new environment and what it takes for them to adjust and survive.  Jessica Huang is no-nonsense; wife, mother and real estate guru whose sense of style is comfortable, chic yet laid back. Jessica’s daily outfits feature mom jeans, simple dresses, chiffon tops, mom shorts, comfy flats and a side bag. Her accessories are also very minimal, like her signature visor, braided-leather belt and leather-strap watch.

zoey-red-corduroy-overalls

Real Name – Yara Shahidi 

On-screen name – Zoey Johnson

TV Show – Blackish

On-screen style – 21st Century It Girl and a dash of Androgyny

zoeys-striped-corchet-top

zoeys-splatter-top

As we all know the TV series Blackish is set in this century and the characters practically dress like we do in this present day. Black-ish centres around an elite black family living in a neighbourhood mostly dominated by white people.

Zoey is the first child and first daughter of Andre and Rainbow Johnson, though she’s only a teenager (on and off-screen) I’m willing to take style tips from her and possibly raid her closet. Zoey can pull off any look, she mostly layers her outfits and is never afraid to add some sparkle, her collection of men’s inspired footwear is to die for plus she’s totally natural hair goals. To crown it all she isn’t just beauty, the girl’s also got brains. Who wouldn’t want to be her?


So that’s it guys, 5 Iconic Style Stars from my favorite TV series

Let me know which of these series you’ve watched?

Do you agree with my choices or am I simply overreacting?

If you do agree with me, whose wardrobe would you love to raid?

Do let me know, I love reading your comments.

Till next time,

WanShyGirl

9 thoughts on “5 Fashion Icons from my Favorite TV shows”

  1. Will, Aunt Viv and Hilary! Totally my style icons too. I just love the bold colours & prints. I always try diving into my mom’s closet to find her old outfits to revamp and wear. Forever drooling and Will’s jackets and Hillary’s one piece suit & skirts and Aunt Viv’s shirts 😍😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Fresh Prince of Bel Air series totally had so much style inspiration. I wish I could go back in time yet I’m so glad we’re bringing back old skool with a modern twist. Thanks for checking this out, totally means a lot.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved Jessica’s style on fresh off the boat, classic comfort is how I’d describe her style. So sad the series ended though. Will’s style was classic 90’s fashion, I too loved how he rocked all those vintage shirts. I’d add Tracee Ellis Ross both on Girlfriends and Blackish to the list. And of course how can I forget Whitley Gilbert on a Different World or Rachel Barry in Friends.
    Princess Audu

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There’s going to be a 4th season coming in fall so it’s not really ended 😉. Tracee’s style is cool too. I didn’t watch a Different World and I my memory of Friends is hazy. I’ll try to check out these characters aforementioned tho, thanks for stopping by Sarah 😁😁😀😊

      Like

Kindly Share Your Thoughts

