Fashion, Style Diary, Trends

Go Goth or Go Home!

Currently Listening to Ycee ft Maleekberry – Juice

When you hear the term Goth, the first thing that comes to mind is the color black and then all sorts of piercings, weird makeup and crazy hairstyles.

Well to be goth isn’t all about being dark, mysterious and even rebellious. There are so many articles on the internet about the goth culture and fashion and so I’m not here to repeat what has been said already.

If you are a friend of mine or you have known me for a while you’ll know that I’ve always admired the goth culture from a distance; perhaps it’s because of my obsession with the color black or because I love being different.

Back in uni, I went through a phase where I would dress in all black outfits, I still do but it’s minimal now. It was a fun time for me and it got people talking LOL! Even when I got over this phase I still dressed up as a goth chick for my final year costume day because when you go goth, you can never go back.

So in this post, I decided to recreate my costume day look but with a slight twist. I’ll also be sharing the basic Goth Girls Fashion Guide.

DSC_0013 (2).JPG

 

For this look I went minimalist and focused on looking like a gothic school girl. So call  me a minimalist goth. Hahaha!

DSC_0009 (2)

So what does it take to be goth? 

Well, irrespective of the type of goth (kindly google the different types there are) you are, the color black is an important part of your wardrobe. Little black dresses, black pants, tops, tights and sometimes distressed denim are wardrobe essentials.

DSC_0010 (2)

For this look, I went with this little black dress I thrifted purposely for my uni costume day. It’s quite old now but it still served it’s purpose for the sake of this post.

DSC_0018 (2)

Unlike my costume day get up, I wore a white shirt underneath to give off that high school girl look. I paired the shirt and dress with a pair of distressed tights sent to me by the good people at Brief Essentials. I prefer to call these tights spider web tights because well the pattern forms a web. Goth girls never joke with their tights and fishnet tights are their go -to.

DSC_0021 (2)

I accessorized with my Father’s fedora hat previously styled here, a dainty black backpack, slim beltchoker, my clear aviators and some wrist candy. Goths really love to accessorize, for my costume day I even had on a nose ring but I chose not to this time around.

DSC_0023 (2)

For footwear I had to make do with these semi – high tops as I’m yet to score the Doc Martens of my dreams. When it comes to footwear chunky boots and clunky shoes are essentials.

DSC_0028 (2)

I finished off the look with some dark eyeliner, dark lipstick and messy eyebrows.  I also painted my nails black at the last minute, hence the little smudges here and there.

DSC_0020 (2)

To be honest, this shoot was done in a rush so I almost missed some details. I didn’t even wear anything on my wrists until the last minute. Could you tell? 😉

I honestly wish I could wear all black all day yet I live for color. Therefore I’m all about a bit of this and that.

Now you might ask what’s the basic Goth Girl’s Fashion Guide?

Well for starters;

  • Anything black – Be it a dress, skirt, top, jeans; Black is the key word.
  • Jewelry is also important; Goths love to accessorize think chokers, neck collars, nose rings, spike earrings
  • A hat – fedoras, beanies or even a  fascinator if you’re Victorian goth
  • Tights
  • Boots
  • Dark makeup
  • Messy dark hair or colored hair if you’re Pastel goth

Here’s what I wore for my uni costume day in case you were wondering;

Outfit Details

LBD – Thrift | Shirt – M & S, Thrift | Tights – Brief Essentials| Backpack & High-tops – My sister’s closet | Fedora – My Father’s | Accessories and Jewelry – Random Buys

Have you ever heard of the goth culture?

What’s your take on my look?

Which do you prefer? My costume day look or the minimalist goth look?

I’d love to hear from you, so drop your comments below.

Till next time,

WanShyGirl

29 thoughts on “Go Goth or Go Home!”

  1. Black.is just not.beautiful again….black is cool..black is.dope…the .black.lipstick eyeliner ….love em….mks u look serious…ur face looking like …no kissing baby…..u know.d rest….good one there…btw…ur photograober did a good job …Can I knw the photographet?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the look, used to have doc martens (second hand ones) but I kinda lost them when moving haha so I’m dreaming of buying another pair again! You know some Nigerians may not understand the coolness of the shoes, they’ll just see them as army boots or something haha

    I also used to have a totally black/grey phase and my wardrobe was just filled with black, now I’ve ignited a love for ankara, but thank goodness law students are all about that black/white so black is still very much part of my wardrobe. I like the makeup because dark, sultry kind of makeup looks are sooo nice!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I prefer the minimalist goth look. Such a fan of black lipstick and eye liner. Omg your dad has a fedora, super cool !!!
    I think that the goth idea is really cool and Victorian goth would be so fun to try. Loved reading this post.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Girrrlllll! I love how you mix your style and not just stick to one code! This post is just so detailed. Super love this look. It’s too cool for school!

    Thestreethaute.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A big part of the goth subculture is not just fashion but also music. If you are interested in looking into the musical aspects of goth you should explore some of the genres of goth music, which are post-punk, death rock, dark wave and cold wave. I suggest that you listen to She’s in Parties by Bauhaus because it is not only one of the big songs of goth music but also a personal favorite of mine.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

