WanShyGirl Blog
Fashion, Style Diary

Out and about Styling my Father’s Shirt.

Heyyyy guys!

I’m officially welcoming you to the month of May and another great weekend. Hope your week went well? Hope your weekend is looking as exciting as mine is? My week was hectic yet fulfilling and I’m willing to check a couple of things off my list this weekend.

IMG_20170505_030842.jpgSo in my previous posts, I mentioned that I’m done with NYSC and finally back to my father’s house. I spent the first two weeks unpacking, arranging, planning and putting things in order basically. Now I’m done with all that and ready to take the bull by its horns. My waka waka has started because if you don’t go out you cannot relate with people and move to the next level. How else am I going to get those job connections?

DSC_0002 (2)Anyways on this particular day, I decide to wear something totally not from my wardrobe. Yes! I shopped from my father’s closet and I know I killed it. I picked this shirt with some sort of pattern, I can’t decide if its gingham, plaid or check, All I know is it has a pattern and it’s in one of my favourite colours.

DSC_0004 (2)I had this shirt slightly tailored, slightly because I didn’t want it to be too tight yet not so loose. I just wanted it to be a bit snug but not oversized.

DSC_0005 (2)I paired the shirt with my jeggings worn heretan rib cage sandals made by Yours Truly and one of my go-to satchels. I also cinched the waist of my shirt with this tan braided leather belt to give it that feminine touch. Daddy’s girl is sooooo ready to SLAY!


Here are some tips if you’re planning to raid your dad, brother, uncle or boyfriend’s closet. 

  1.  Pick something that you can actually wear.

  2. Get it tailored, you could go for the slim fit or loose fit like mine.

  3. Cinch it with a belt for that feminine yet classy look.

  4. Wear slightly loose bottoms, preferably jeans, jeggings or leggings.

  5. Roll the sleeves if need be, do them neatly too don’t be like me.

  6. Pair it with sandals, sneakers or even heels to give off that classy look.

I just might wear this shirt as a shirt dress because it’s truly big enough, Hahahaha I kid. 😄😂😂😄

That’s it guys,

What’s your take on this look?

Did you find these tips helpful?

Have you ever raided someone of the other sexes’ closet?

I’d love to hear from you.

Till next time,

WanShyGirl ❤❤


Outfit Details

Shirt – My Father’s| Jeggings – Old |Belt – Thrift |Sandals – DIY|Satchel – Thrift

22 thoughts on “Out and about Styling my Father’s Shirt.”

  1. Lol, see how small you look in your “my father dash me shirt”.. I wish you luck in your your job search ..Any
    girl who raids my wardrobe and does this to any of my favorite shirt would most definitely fall on my bad side sha if d cloth no fit am..

    Liked by 1 person

Kindly Share Your Thoughts

