Fashion, Style Diary

Contemporary African

Hello Fam Bam, 😄😄

It’s another weekend and I’m super glad it’s a three day weekend, yes! Monday is a public holiday (in Nigeria).
More time to rest and start getting ready to go home *yippeeekayaay*

So as I mentioned in my last post here, this post is a style post. I know I’ve not been having many of these here lately, we’ve just been improvising and all but consistency is key eh?

Processed with VSCO

Contemporary African? You might say what big grammar is this girl blowing again. Lol I just love juxtaposing (another big one, I can’t help it 🙈) words. Anyways Contemporary means modern and we all know what African means yeah? (If you don’t you deserve to be flogged)

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset
Osheyyy!!! UNlooking πŸ˜€

Just as this title says, this look features something Modern paired with something African.

I paired this white chiffon shirt, previously styled here and here (I guess you can say it’s one of my favorite shirt),  with this ankara (African print) A-line skirt.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset
Girl in Progress

Remember the off-shoulder top from this post? Well I made it from what was left over after making the skirt. I also threw on my nude heeled sandals worn here and here and my nude snake print bag (I didn’t buy the bag and shoes together but they are a perfect match) and kept my accessories simple.

Processed with VSCO
Purrrfecct Match

I wore this to my Regional Convention which held in November, hence the impromptu pictures, and I definitely loved how it turned out.

Processed with VSCO

On a regular day, I’d have worn this shirt with a regular pencil skirt or pants, but I decided to try something different and mix something traditional  African with something modern Western.

Processed with VSCO

I really loved how this turned out and now I’m thinking of styling this skirt with the off-shoulder top from this post just for the fun of it :mrgreen::mrgreen:, fingers crossed on that. I might also restyle this look but with black heels instead.

Outfit Details

Shirt – Lagos Island
Skirt – Ankara, Tailored
Shoes – Thrift
Bag – Thrift

Let me know what you think

What’s your take on this look?

What other modern-traditional looks have you tried?

Nude heels or black heels which would go better?


Please let me know.

Thanks for stopping by.

Till next time,

WanShyGirl

4 thoughts on “Contemporary African”

Leave a Reply

